RSS Feed

My Back Yard Dream

Posted on

In the last ten years of my life, I’ve accomplished a great deal of things.  I’ve graduated from college, gotten engaged, gotten married, and am now living away from my family with my husband to make a life for ourselves.  But one of the things I haven’t done yet (and honestly won’t do for a while) is own a home.  There are many things I look forward to as a future homeowner.  I look forward to being able to paint and renovate.  I look forward to sewing curtains without having to worry about how useless they will be when our lease is up and they don’t fit the windows in the next apartment.  But one of the things I look forward to the most is having a back yard to decorate.

I saw this commercial on TV some time ago when Target started their Spring line advertising.  There is a small scene at 0:12, and it only lasts for a few seconds, but it shows an outside gathering where friends are sharing a meal on long tables.  This is what I would love to happen.

I want a classic, Southern back yard complete with lighting hanging in the trees and a large drink dispenser full of sweet tea (naturally).

I love how the lights look hung loosely across buildings.

And I thought the idea of having movie night outside was genius.

I’ve learned that North Carolina doesn’t understand the idea of “in-between weather.”  Back when I was getting all geared up for Fall last year, I had pipe dreams of making Autumn Stew and eating it on our deck.  Autumn is indeed preferable to Spring because there’s no bugs or allergies.  But Fall lasted maybe two weeks here before Winter got its revenge for not coming around the year before.  I felt so robbed of Fall and now I feel robbed of Spring with how hot it’s been over the last couple of days.  I just want some in-between weather.  Is that so much to ask?  Anyway, I hope to have at least one outside Spring or Summer party this year.  I’m already pinning ideas, of course. 😉

I can’t wait to have a back yard of my own to host dinner parties, or have my children’s birthday parties, or just spend summer nights in, but for now at least I have all the more time to plan.


Pictures are from: here/here/here/here/here

Leave a Reply

