RSS Feed

T is for Trekkie

Posted on

You guys…I think I’m slowly becoming a trekkie.

I don’t have a problem admitting that this transition came about thanks to Mr. Abrams.  Prior to 2009’s Star Trek, I never really had an interest in the franchise.  I of course knew about Captain Kirk and Mr. Spock and all the pop culture associations with them.  When Luke and I were little, our Poppy let us watch Next Generation and Deep Space Nine with him.  I guess I technically grew up with it, but I was never very into it.  As I got older and went though puberty, I was super girly and felt that things like sci-fi and video games were very boyish and didn’t want any part of it.  This same trend followed me for most of my life – believing that gaming and sci-fi and comics were “boy stuff.”  Sometimes I still feel this way, but I am hoping to acclimate myself more and more.  Marrying and living with a nerd who has nerdy friends really helps in that department.

Anyway, back to Star Trek.

When Justin wanted to see the new Star Trek movie that was coming out back in 2009, I just let out an exasperated sigh.  He is, after all, a boy and simply wants to see the movie as another check on his list of boy things, I thought.  But after seeing that movie, my world was rocked.  Did…did I just watch a Star Trek movie and…l-l-like it?  I wondered to myself.  I couldn’t believe it, but yes – I, Caty, officially liked some version of Star Trek.  I even talk about Zachary Quinto’s Spock back in this post on the old blog.  I could write an entire blog series on why I love Quinto’s Spock, but let’s just say it’s pretty serious.

And so it began.  My love affair with Star Trek.

After a long wait, Into Darkness finally came out in May of this year.  And then my love affair became a full-on obsession.  We saw it in theaters when it came out, and the only other time I got to see it (much to my dismay) was with friends at the $2 theater in Raleigh about two weeks ago.  Seeing it a second time just made it better.  I can’t rave about this movie enough.

Caty Loves Star Trek

This could become an obsession of X-Files proportions!

After watching the Trekkies documentary on Netflix and purchasing a T-shirt at Dcon that reads, “Keep Calm and Boldly Go,” I think I am starting to come to terms with this new fandom that I’m becoming a part of.  I have started watching Star Trek the original series on Netflix.  Let me just say – if you can get through the pilot, you’re good to go.  The pilot is rough.  But starting with the second episode, everything is back to the way it should be.

I’m enjoying this.  I like that this happened, and I hope this franchise holds good things for me.  I actually think it is really cool to refer to myself as a Trekkie, even if the transition is just starting.  Just another thing I never thought I would actually like!


Addendum: I remembered that I’ve also tweeted about Star Trek!  Gotta include everything for my Fangirl cred.

Leave a Reply

