RSS Feed

The 2015 Book-A-Week Challenge

Posted on

This year has been pretty crazy.

I edited my book, then published it, I turned 28, I got laid off from one job and just started another, I went to D*Con, and now I’m getting ready to write my second book in November.

I haven’t had a lot of free time, not even for reading (or blogging, for that matter!).

But that’s changing in 2015.

I love reading.  It’s probably my favorite hobby.  I love being transported to other worlds and living vicariously through someone else’s life for a little while.  If you look through the Book Reviews tag, you’ll see that I’m as regular a reviewer as I am a reader.  This year, however, was more dedicated to writing than some years in the past were.

Thanks to my compulsive book-buying nature and my ever-growing list of books I want to read one day, I’ve got a backlog a mile long.  If I’m going to actually get through any of them and have that serendipitous life where I can actually ask for book recommendations, or — gasp! — actually read a book or two from lists on Pinterest, then I need a system to get through my backlog.

Enter: The 2015 Book-A-Week Challenge.  Yes, it’s as ambitious as it sounds.  I want to read, at least, 52 books next year — that’s one a week.  I went through an old list that I kept on my Drive and several lists on Goodreads, as well as several stacks of recently purchased books, to compile the list.  I got the list up to 52 books and still had several left over, so those are “Extras,” in case I get on a roll and actually have time to read additional books.

A Few Rules…

  1. I must finish each book within seven days: the time allotted beginning on Sunday and ending on Saturday.
  2. I must write a review the day I finish the book and cannot begin the next book until the review is published on this blog.
    1. If I finish a book before the week’s end, I can begin another book as soon as the first book’s review is published.  I will also still be given until the following Saturday to finish the next book.
  3. I’m going to try very hard to finish each book, but ultimately, I’m reading these books because I want to.  If, for some reason, a book just isn’t working for me, can’t keep my attention, or otherwise doesn’t get completely read, I must replace the book in the list on the Challenge page with an Extra and attempt to finish it before the week’s end.

My current goal is to finish The Dresden Files, up to the current book, before the end of the year.  Then, I will begin my Challenge first thing in 2015.  This Challenge will also be in the midst of me editing and publishing my second book.  I guess I’m just insane. 🙂

Full disclosure: my first “book” is actually short story.  But, since I only have three days in which to read it, as opposed to the full seven days for every other book, I’m going to let it slide.

Wish me luck!

Who’s with me?  Make your own Challenge for 2015!  It’ll be here before you know it.

3 responses »

  1. The Howling Fantogs

    Very ambitious. I think I did 52 last year or the year before. I have set myself a 25 book challenge this year on my Goodreads reading challenge. I’m even struggling with that because I am trying to do more writing instead. I have picked a beast of a book at the moment though. I think I have about a hundred books on my to read list at the moment. Don’t fancy my chances of getting through them all. Especially as I am constantly adding to it.

    Reply
  2. It is ambitious! I’m not even 100% sure that I will be able to accomplish it, but I at least want to try. And I agree — my problem is that my to-read list is evergrowing, and I can barely get to one book to read without having added more first. It’s a vicious cycle, but one I’m happy to be stuck in. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

