RSS Feed

2015: Bigger, Better, Faster, Stronger

Posted on
1420127854850.3

Here’s to 2015!

Sigh of Relief.

At last, 2014 is officially over.  At first, I was optimistic about the year, but that light quickly faded.  The first three months were deceivingly awesome.  I got promoted at work, and thought the year could only get better from there.  Then April happened.  Bonnie got really sick, sick enough that I was convinced she was dying.  We spent an absurd amount of money trying to make her better and trying to just figure out what was wrong.  We finally did, and she was able to take some pain meds and get better.  I’m beyond thankful for her recovery, but it was one of the giant letdowns that 2014 brought us.  Then, in May, I got let go from my job that I’d been promoted to two months prior.  I spent the summer unemployed, in constant stress trying to find work.  I found a temp job at Duke and worked there for almost three months.  As of right now, I’m waiting to hear back on another job at Duke that I’ve interviewed twice for.  It sounds positive.  We’ll see.  In November, Justin fell off his motorcycle and had to spend the next several weeks recuperating.  It was just one thing after another.

On the bright side, 2014 wasn’t all bad.  I was able to reconnect with some people toward the end of the year, I had a great birthday, had a great time at D*Con, published my book, and learned new things.  I hope the coming year holds more of that.

Anyway, now that 2014 is finally in the past, let’s move on to 2015.

New Year, New Resolutions.

Here are the traditional five resolutions I made for 2014:

  1. Run again.  As already mentioned, I want to start running again.  I’m going to start training in mid-February for this 8K at the end of May.  I’m so excited – I’ve wanted to run this race since I moved here!
  2. Less sleep.  I made the executive decision that I need less sleep.  While some people require the exact opposite, I think I get too much sleep.  It’s a vicious cycle: I fall asleep super early, sleep through the whole night, wake up early, feel tired from getting too much sleep and acting sluggish, then fall asleep early because my body is telling me it’s tired when in reality it’s just over-rested.  I’ve already been making some strides to staying up later, so hopefully this will continue.
  3. Write more.  I may or may not do NaNoWriMo again, we’ll see how I feel about it in October.  For right now, this resolution will be slightly revised to, “edit and publish manuscript.”  I’m giving myself the month of February to edit it and create the cover.  Then all that’s left to do is publish it!
  4. Finish: Dresden, X-Files, Star Trek, KK.  This isn’t exactly a constructive goal as it’s purely for entertainment purposes.  I want to finish the Dresden Files series (up until the current book) as well as the Kingdom Keepers series, and I want to finish X-Files and watch all the incarnations of Star Trek.  I’m stupidly excited to watch Next Generation, but I feel it’s only proper to watch TOS first.
  5. Red binder.  Seriously.  In short, my mother-in-law gave me this red “binder” (which is actually a photo album) that had a lot of pictures in it from when Justin was a baby.  I wanted to scan the pictures and then return the red binder to her.  I think she gave me the binder back in 2010.  It’s time to cross this one off.

How Did I Do?

  1. Run again.  I did run the Running of the Bulls 8K.  My dad ran it with me.  I did terribly.  We came in way after our goal time, and Daddy had to literally take my hand and force me to run the last three miles or so.  I thought I was training pretty well until the week before the race.  I decided to take a run through a popular trail near my apartment and slid down a gravel hill on my knee.  It hurt so bad that I could barely put pressure on it.  That made running the race difficult and, as a result, it wasn’t as great a time as I was hoping.  I haven’t run again since then, but maybe I will soon.  I’ve been wanting to lately, so maybe something will come of it.
  2. Less sleep.  Jimmy Fallon took over The Tonight Show starting in February, so at first, staying up later was easy because I wanted to watch it.  Sometimes, I would fall asleep before it came on, but wake back up to watch it before going to bed.  And then, other times, I just couldn’t do it.  I was just too tired to stay up.  I’d call this a 60/40 success.
  3. Write more.  I did accomplish this one.  I wrote my second book in November and throughout the year, I wrote several pieces that I’m going to compile into a collection one day.  Even though I’m going to be concentrating on reading this year, and may not do NaNoWriMo, I will be editing and publishing my second novel.  I’ve been writing a lot lately and I’m ready to read instead.
  4. Finish: Dresden, X-Files, Star Trek, KK.  I finished none of these things.  Things were just too crazy; the idea of sitting and watching an entire series, much less during my unemployment, was absurd.  The Dresden and Kingdom Keepers series are in my reading list for this year, and maybe I can fit in X-Files or Star Trek into the mix between books or when my eyes are burnt out.
  5. Red binder.  This one will get done this year, but I’m not going to mark it as a resolution.  The entire year of 2014, the printer cartridges we had were wrong, and the scanner wouldn’t work because of that.  We got the correct cartridges during Cyber Monday and now the scanner works.  This stupid little chore will finally be resolved this year.

So, What’s Next?

Here are my five resolutions for 2015:

  1. Read books.  Lots of books.  This year will be deemed the year of reading.  Even if I don’t accomplish the massive undertaking of my Challenge, reading will still take precedence over other forms of entertainment.  I want to read as much as I can.  The last two years have been focused on writing, and I’ve spent every day since Christmas of 2012 trying to get through the Dresden Files, so I haven’t much of an opportunity to read a large selection of books.  That’s changing in 2015.
  2. Write, just a little.  While I am going to be spending this year reading, I can’t just stop writing.  I’m going to continue blogging and writing whenever I get the urge to do so, so that I won’t get rusty.
  3. Don’t let the laundry mildew.  It’s a problem.  We’re gonna fix it.
  4. Better money management.  Once I finally do get another job, I’m going to manage my money better; i.e. not spend every cent of every paycheck because I have it.
  5. Get rid of negativity.  I’ve already started this on Facebook, getting rid of people whom I deem to be negative.  Facebook, of all things, is supposed to be a small escape for me when I need a break.  So, if you are negative all the time, post negative or depressing things, or are a jerk, you will be de-friended.  Same goes for all other things and people in real life.  I’m at that age where it’s more important to me to be happy than to please everyone else.

So, there you have it.  I hope that this year is MUCH better, and that it’s better for everyone reading this as well.

Love & Good Wishes!

Leave a Reply

